Saptha Sloki Gita

Saptha Sloki Gita
Translated by P. R. Ramachander

[These seven slokas in this order from Bhagawad Gita has been published by Gita press, Gorakpur, in their collection of stotras called Stotra Ratnavali. It is supposed to represent in a nutshell the teachings contained in the 700 slokas of Bhagawad Gita. I understand that this Saptha Sloki Gita is being recited as a daily prayer by the Kashmiri Pundits for hundrerds of years.]

Bhagawan Uvacha:
Om ithyaksharam Brahma,
Vyaharan maam anusmaran,
Ya prayathi thyajan deham,
Sa Yathi Pramamam gathim. 1 (8-13)

The God said:
He who, meditates on me,
As Om, which in Brahman,
While leaving this ephemeral body,
Will surely attain the most supreme state.

Arjuna Uvacha:
Sthane Hrisikesa, Thava prakeerthya,
Jagath prahrushthya anurajyathe cha,
Rakshamsi bheethani diso dravanthi,
Sarve namasyanthi cha sidha sangha. 2 (11-36)

Arjuna said:
In this state, Oh Lord, Singing about you.
The world is happy and is rejoicing,
To see the evil ones flying away with fear,
And all those devoted ones saluting you.

[This is told after seeing the Viswa Roopa of the Lord.]

Bhagawan Uvacha:
Sarvatha pani padam thath,
Sarvatho akshi siro mukham,
Sarvatha sruthimalloke,
Sarvamavithya thishtahi. 3 (13-14)

The God said:
It has hands and legs everywhere,
It has eyes head and mouth everywhere,
It has ears everywhere in this world,
And it exists as every thing in this world.

Kavim purana anusasithara-
Manoramaneeyaam samanusmaredhya,
Sarvasya dhataram machinthya roopa-
Madithya varnam thamasa parasthath. 4 (8-9)

Think of Him, as ancient, spread everywhere,
Ruler of all, much subtler part of an atom,
Protector of all with his form which is beyond thought,
With the colour of Sun and transcendental beyond dark thoughts.

Oordhwamoolamadha sakham,
Aswatham prahooravyayam,
Chandamsi yasya parnani,
Yastham Veda sa Vedavith. 5 (15-1)

With roots above and branches Growing down,
This Banyan tree with Vedas as its leaves,
Is everlasting and immortal,
And whosoever knows it, really knows the Vedas.

Sarvasya chaham, hrudhi sannivishto,
Matha smrithir jnana mapohanam cha,
Vedaischa sarvaii, rahameva Vedhyo,
Vedanthakruth veda vidheva chaham. 6 (15-15)

I live in everybody’s heart,
And from me one gets,
Memory, wisdom and forgetfulness,
And for all the Vedas, I am the one that is to be known,
For I created them and I am the one who knows them.

Manmana bhava Mad bhaktho,
Madhyajee maam Namakuru,
Mamevaishyasi sathyam they,
Prathijane priyo asi may. 7 (18-65)

Concentrate your mind on me,
Always show devotion to me,
Sacrifice for me, salute me,
And I swear to you because you are dear to me,
That definitely you will reach me.