Vishnu Shodasa Nama Stotram

Vishnu Shodasa Nama Stotram
[The prayer of Sixteen Names of Vishnu]
Translated by P. R. Ramachander

This is one of the prayers to be addressed to Lord Vishnu as soon as you wake up. It lists the Sixteen Names of Lord Vishnu.

Oushade Chinthaye Vishnum,
Bhojane cha Janardhanam,
Sayane Padmanabham cha,
Vivahe cha Prajapathim.
Yuddhe Chakradharam devam,
Pravase cha Trivikramam,
Narayanam Thanu thyage,
Sreedharam priya sangame,
Duswapne smara, Govindam,
Sankate Madhu soodhanam,
Kanane Narasimham cha,
Pavake Jalasayinam,
Jalamadhye Varaham cha,
Parvathe Raghu nandanam,
Gamane Vamanam Chaiva,
Sarva Karyeshu Madhavam.

Think him as Vishnu* while taking medicine,
As Janardhana while eating food,
As Padmanabha while in bed,
As Prajapathi at time of marriage,
As Chakra dhara while engaged in war,
As Trivikrama while on travel,
As Narayana on death bed,
As Sreedhara while meeting with the beloved,
As Govinda while tossing with bad dreams,
As Madhu sudhana while in trouble,
As Narasimha while in the forest,
As Jala Sayina while fire is ravaging,
As Varaha while struggling in water,
As Raghu nandana while lost in a mountain,
As Vamana while on the move,
And as Madhava while doing everything.

Shodasaithani Naamani,
Prathar uthaaya ya padeth,
Sarva papa vinirmuktho,
Vishnu lokam samopnuyath.

As soon as one wakes up in the morning,
If these Sixteen Names are read,
He would be bereft of all sins,
And reach the world of Vishnu at the end.

Vishnu – He who is spread everywhere.
Janardhana – He who punishes evil people.
Padhmanabha – He who has a lotus in his belly button.
Prajapathi – He who is the chief of people.
Chakradhara – He who is armed with the holy wheel.
Trivikrama – He who measured all the worlds in three steps.
Narayana – He who resides in all things he creates.
Sreedhara – He who carries Goddess of Wealth in his chest.
Govinda – He who can be attained by Vedas.
Madhu Soodhana – He who killed the ogre called Madhu.
Naarasimha – He who took the shape of half lion, half human.
Jalasayina – He who sleeps on water.
Varaha – He who took the shape of the holy boar.
Raghu Nandana – The darling of the clan of Raghu.
Vaamana – He who took the shape of a dwarf.
Madhava – He who is Lord of everything.

* The meanings in English of the names mentioned in this verse are given at the end.

Disclaimer: Celextel has Created this Vedanta Shastras Library with a Noble Intention of making these Indian Spiritual Treasures available to One and All. Celextel is taking Absolute Care in Maintaining this Website and Celextel shall not be held Responsible for any Errors or Incorrectness. These Online Books are only for Informative Purposes and shall not be Construed as Rendering of any Professional Advice in any Manner Whatsoever. Readers must Exercise their Own Judgement and Refer to the Original Source for all Practical Purposes.
Distribution, Publication and Unauthorized Copying of these Online Books without Prior Permission of Respective Authors, Publishers or Translators are Prohibited.
Copyright © 2002-2023 Celextel Enterprises Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Innovation Theme by Cagintranet ** Powered by GetSimple
Vedanta Shastras Library RSS Feed
Vedanta Shastras Library XML Site Map
Do NOT follow this link or You will be Banned from this Website!